Best Oven 2017 – Buyer’s Guide

Buying an oven will be one of your biggest kitchen purchases; it’s worth getting clued up on all the different types by reading our oven reviews and getting to grips with our buying guide. It’s the kind of appliance that you don’t want anything going wrong with as it will be both tricky and expensive to fix. Make sure you know exactly what you are getting yourself into when you make your decisions and always be clear on warranty periods. To help you navigate the world of oven buying, we’ll be covering fuel, function and design.

Best Fan & Convection Ovens

Oh the power of hot air! Fan, fan-assisted, or convection work by circulating hot air around, making for a more efficient cooking environment. Rather than just relying on the walls heating up and radiating heat around, convection setups actually propel hot air around the food. Convection ovens are usually energy-efficient and are easier for home cooks because you won’t have to bother with moving food around inside and you’ll get a more even bake. Fan or convection ovens can either be solely fan ovens, or they can be multi functional ovens that have a fan function. Convection ovens can be fuelled by either electricity or gas, but electricity is increasingly becoming the norm. Read our reviews of some of the best fan & convection ovens.

Model
DetailsOven Type
Zanussi ZOD35712XK Built In
Double Fan Oven
zanussi-zod35712xk-built-in-double-fan-oven

Read Our Review
Dimensions (cm)
88 x 59.4 x 54.8 cm (H x W x D)

Canvas Size (L)
68 L + 43 L

Best Feature
Programmable timer that turns the oven off
Double Fan-Assisted
Electric/ Combination
Hoover HPRECM7
Hoover HPRECM7 review

Read Our Review
Dimensions (cm)
59.5 x 59.5 x 56.7 cm (H x W x D)

Canvas Size (L)
65 L

Best Feature
Comes with ceramic hob
Single Fan-Assisted
Electric/ Combination
Beko EcoSmart
BRIF22300X
Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X Review

Read Our Review
Dimensions (cm)
59.5 x 59.4 x 56.7cm (H x W x D)

Canvas Size (L)
71 L

Best Feature
•Child Lock & EcoSmart
•LED Display
Single Fan-Assisted
Electric
Belling BI70FP 60cm Built-under
Double Fan Electric Oven
belling-bi70fp-60cm-built-under-double-fan-electric-oven-black

Read Our Review
Dimensions (cm)
70.3 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)

Canvas Size (L)
50 L + 35 L

Best Feature
Drop down glass door
Double Electric
Hoover HCGF304/6WPP
Electric Oven
hoover-hcgf304-6wpp-electric-oven

Read Our Review
Dimensions (cm)
59.5 x 59.5 x 55cm (H x W x D)

Canvas Size (L)
65 L

Best Feature
Closed door grilling
Single Electric

 Our Best Fan/Convection Oven Pick

Zanussi ZOD35712XK

ZANUSSI ZOD35712XK Electric Double Oven ReviewMultifunctional Italian double with versatility and style Going for a double convection is a great way to maximise kitchen space. This Zanussi number gives you over a 100 litres of space (can’t argue with that). Great double with plenty of cooking space and a smart timing programme that turns itself off, so you don’t have to worry about burning the house down!

This Zanussi number gives you over a 100 litres of space (can’t argue with that). Great double with plenty of cooking space and a smart timing programme that turns itself off, so you don’t have to worry about burning the house down!

Great double with plenty of cooking space and a smart timing programme that turns itself off, so you don’t have to worry about burning the house down!

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating
  • Grease burning technology
  • Anti-fingerprint coating
  • Programmable cooking timer
We Didn't Like:
  • Unusually – nothing!
Zanussi ZOD35712XK
100 %

Our Verdict: One of the best currently on the market, fantastic build quality and value for money.

Zanussi ZOD35712XK Rating: 10/10

Specification & Downloads

Specifications:

  • 68 L top plus 43 L lower capacity means you’ve got over 100 L of space to play with
  • Dimensions: 88 x 59.4 x 54.8 cm (H x W x D)
  • Convection, combination or grill cooking functions (top cavity can be a second mini oven, or a grill)
  • Energy rating: A
  • Ideal for an eye-level cabinet
  • Catalytic liners absorb grease and burn it off during cooking (and it’s also covered in anti-fingerprint coating)
  • Pre-programmable cooking timer (its safety function will trigger and turn the device off at the end of the allotted time)

Zanussi ZOD35712XK EU product manual

Download the Zanussi ZOD35712XK EU product fiche here.

Hoover HPRECM7

Hoover HPRECM7 review

This oven and hob combination is perfect for busy family homes. Boasting an LED clock, programmable timer and seven different useful functions including a defrost setting and a pizza function, this multifunction oven makes cooking easy.

Cleaning the Hoover HPRECM7 couldn’t be easier, with easy clean enamel surfaces and a steam cleaning system you’ll never have to spend hours soaking and chipping grease off this appliance.

For the price, this is easily one of the best ovens on the market.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Defrost function
  • Easy clean enamel
  • Pizza function
We Didn't Like:
  • Single cavity for both grill and oven, can’t be used together
Hoover HPRECM7
90 %

Our Verdict: The perfect choice for those who want their cooking experience simplified.

Hoover HPRECM7 Rating: 9/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Main capacity: 65L
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.7 cm (H x W x D)
  • Fan-assisted electric oven
  • Cleaning: Easy-clean enamel, Steam cleaning function
  • Energy Rating: A+

Hoover HPRECM7 user manual

Download the Hoover HPRECM7 user manual here.

Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X

Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X Review

This Beko oven has a large capacity at 71 litres, perfect for when you have guests and need to feed a large group of people. Better still it’s in Beko’s EcoSmart range, meaning that it will save you money by reducing energy consumption whilst not compromising on cooking quality.

Designed to fit within an eye level cabinet and with a handy LED display, this is one of the most stylish and appealing options on the market for the price, which also includes a 2 year manufacturer’s warranty for your peace of mind.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating
  • EcoSmart
  • LED display
  • Child safety lock
  • Large capacity
We Didn't Like:
  • Grill pan handle not included
Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X
80 %

Our Verdict: This large capacity oven is perfect for big families or having guests over, being in the EcoSmart range means reduced energy consumption which in turn will lead to savings over time.

Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X Rating: 8/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Capacity: 71 litres
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.4 x 56.7cm (H x W x D)
  • Energy Rating: A
  • Safety Features: Child Lock
  • Main Cavity Type: Electric Fan Oven / Grill
  • Warranty: 2 Years

Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X user manual

Download the Beko EcoSmart BRIF22300X user manual here.

Belling BI70FP 60cm

Belling BI70FP 60cm Built-under Double Fan Electric Oven Review

Built-in double fan from quality British kitchen brand

This Belling double convection is of a medium size for a double and has got loads of great features you’d expect from a Belling. There are a few little niggles on the usability side that are dragging the score down ever so slightly, but it’s still great for the price from a market-leading brand.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Double separate compartments
  • Easy to clean inside
  • A energy rating
  • Programmable
  • Lower capacity: 50 L + top capacity: 35 L
We Didn't Like:
  • Light only in top compartment
  • Temperature indicators are sometimes hard to see
Belling BI70FP
80 %

Our Verdict: Good for the price from a well known brand. Some usability issues but overall a great budget buy.

Belling BI70FP Rating: 8/10

Specification & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Main capacity: 50 L + top capacity: 35 L
  • Dimensions: 70.3 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)
  • Fanned electric (2kW) and conventional electric top oven + grill
  • Energy efficiency rating: A
  • Programmable timer (but the timer cannot be preset and it won’t actually turn whole setup off like the Zanussi one)
  • Easy-clean enamel insides
  • Drop-down glass door
  • Light in main compartment only
  • Temperature indicators are very small and hard to sometimes spot whether they are on or off

Belling BI70FP 60cm Built-under Double Fan Electric product manual

Download the Belling BI70FP 60cm Built-under Double Fan Electric manual here.

Hoover HCGF304/6WPP

HOOVER HCGF304/6WPP Electric Oven Review

Modern black single convection

Another great Hoover offering, this one’s slick black colour makes for a stylish addition to your family kitchen. A modern setup for a modern kitchen.

There’s a few little niggles with this when in use, but this is still a stylish family model at a good price point.

 

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating
  • 65 litre capacity
  • Integrated fan for even cooking
  • Closed-door grilling to lock-in smells
  • Easy to clean inside
  • Lights inside the door provide good visibility when cooking
We Didn't Like:
  • Sometimes the door vibrates
  • Cooking can sometimes be slower or faster than stated in recipes
Hoover HCGF304/6WPP
75 %

Our Verdict: Build quality could be better as it does have some flaws. Higher quality alternatives are available for around the same price.

HCGF304/6WPP Rating: 7.5/10

Specification & Downloads

Specifications:

  • 65 L capacity electric fan
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 55cm (H x W x D)
  • Energy rating for efficiency: A
  • Integrated fan for safe and even cooking
  • Closed-door grilling so that smells don’t travel around your kitchen
  • Easy-clean enamel insides to help you keep it clean
  • Lights in the door provide good life
  • Sometimes vibrates and the way it heats up can be a bit hit and miss (sometimes fast, sometimes a bit slower)

Hoover HCGF304/6WPP Electric  product manual

Browse Hoover’s advice centre for details on how to install.

Fan ovens are great for energy efficiency as they circulate hot air around, cutting down on cooking time. If you fancy checking out more, head over to our gas oven reviews to fan your flames.

We hope you got some useful info for your next fan or convection oven purchase. Still not sure? Go check out our electric ovens reviews for some more great reviews.

Best Double Ovens

Buying a double oven means having twice the fun in your kitchen. They are brilliant for bigger family kitchens and will be appreciated by ambitious home cooks who need some space to perfect their Sunday roast. Having one of these means you can easily have multiple dishes on the go – grilling on the top, whilst roasting other food on the bottom. Some twin ovens also offer double grills if grilling is really your thing. Here are our favourite double ovens that would be great for any family kitchen.

NameImageBrandOven TypeDimensions (in cm)Cavity size (litres)Price rangeEnergy ratingBest featuresRatingPriceBuy Now
BOSCH HBM13B150B bosch-hbm13b150b-electric-double-oven-brushed-steelBosch Double Fan-Assisted Electric 88.8 x 59.5 x 55.0 cm (H x W x D)71 + 35 L Mid High A- even & fast cooking
- quality engineering
5££
Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB Built In Double Oven neff-classic-collection-2-u15m52n3gb-built-in-double-ovenNeff Double Electric 88.8 x 59.4 x 55.0 cm (H x W x D)66 L + 35 LMid A and B - CeramiClean lining
- durability
4.8£££
Indesit DDD5340CIX Electric Double Ovenindesit-ddd5340cix-electric-double-oven-stainless-steelIndesit Double Electric 88.7 x 59.7 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)71 L + 39 LSuper low A- 7 cooking functions
- programmable digital timer
4.7££
AEG NC4013021MAEG NC4013021M reviewAEGElectric 71.5 x 59.4 x 54.8 cm(H x W x D)46 L + 40 LMid A- anti fingerprint finish
- catalytic cleaning system
9£££
Beko BDVC667W 60cm Double Oven Electricbeko-bdvc667w-60cm-double-oven-electric-cookerBekoDouble Electric 90 x 60 x 60 cm (H x W x D)65 L + 35 LLow A and B - ceramic hobs3.9££

 Our Top Pick Double Oven

BOSCH HBM13B150B

BOSCH HBM13B150B Electric Double Oven Review

Quality German engineering for your kitchen

We love the fact that it gets the job done fast and doesn’t make too much of a fuss in the process, heating things up quickly but quietly. This German Bosch is a brilliant addition to any British kitchen.

You know you are getting a good oven when you go for a Bosch, and this is no exception.

 

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • High capacity (71 + 35 liters)
  • Fan assisted to cook food evenly
  • Easy to clean inside
  • A rated energy effeciency
  • Very quiet when in use
We Didn't Like:
  • Visiblity could be better, but is still good.
BOSCH HBM13B150B
100 %

Our Verdict: A great quality buy, this is a nifty double fan setup that is both smart and efficient.

BOSCH HBM13B150B Rating: 10/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • Main capacity: 71 litres and 35 litres in the second cavity
  • Dimensions: 88.8 x 59.5 x 55.0 cm (H x W x D)
  • Fan-assisted & fast which cooks food evenly
  • Cleaning: Easy-clean enamel
  • Rated A for energy efficiency
  • Two-year manufacturer’s warranty
  • Good performance and quiet when in use

Electric Double Product manual

Download the BOSCH HBM13B150B Electric Double product manual here.

Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB

Neff Classic Collection 2 U12S52N3GB Built In Double Oven Review

Classic stainless steel double electric oven with 2-year warranty

There are no flashy bells and whistles here, just solid quality that has been known to go the distance and last for over a decade. Shame about the B energy efficiency rating in the second cavity, but it’s still a great choice as it’s hard to find kitchen appliances that go the distance like this one can.

A classic, you can’t go wrong with this Neff Classic Collection.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A (top) + B (bottom) energy rating
  • Easy to clean inside  thanks to CeramiClean lining
  • Designed to fit at eye level
  • LED Display
  • Good visiblity when cooking
We Didn't Like:
  • Slightly smaller than other alternatives
Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB
95 %

Our Verdict: This is a quality and durable kitchen appliance, built to last with all the features that you’d want.

Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB Rating: 9.5/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 66 L + 35 L capacity (on the smaller side of double setups, it’s still a great size)
  • Dimensions: 88.8 x 59.4 x 55 cm (H x W x D)
  • Main fan compartment with an electric oven (plus grill setting)
  • A and B energy ratings (second cavity only gets a B rating)
  • Clear LED display
  • Cleaning is easy thanks to the CeramiClean lining
  • Designed to fit at eye level so it can be integrated into a wall cabinet
  • Easy to see inside and very durable, these are known to last for over a decade (and they’ve got a 2-year warranty)

Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB Product Manual

Download the Neff Classic Collection 2 U15M52N3GB user manuals from here.

Indesit DDD5340CIX

INDESIT Aria DDD5340CIX Electric Built-in Double Oven Review

Budget fan and convection double oven with large internal capacity

This Indesit model has some great functions and it’s nice to see a double oven where both of the cavities have been given A ratings for energy efficiency. We love that you can get a built-in double electric setup with seven cooking functions priced this near the £300 mark.

Seven cooking functions and a generous internal capacity make this a great mid-weight product for a budget price.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating for both cavities
  • Catalytic liners makes cleaning inside easy
  • 7 cooking functions including slow cook
  • Programmable digital timer
  • Large capacity
We Didn't Like:
  • No inside lighting in the top cavity
Indesit DDD5340CIX
93 %

Our Verdict: This Indesit is a real budget buy. Fantastic quality for the price, this will not disappoint.

Indesit DDD5340CIX Rating: 9.3/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 71 L + 39 L capacity make this a generous package in terms of size
  • Dimensions: 88.7 x 59.7 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)
  • Both compartments have an A rating for energy efficiency
  • Catalytic liners make for an easy-clean experience
  • Seven cooking functions (we love the slow-cook function)
  • One year manufacturer’s guarantee
  • Programmable digital timer keeps you in control of your cooking
  • No interior light in the top cavity pulls down its usability score (especially as this tends to be standard on other cookers)

Indesit DDD5340CIX Product Manual

Download the Indesit DDD5340CIX manual here.

AEG NC4013021M

AEG NC4013021M review

We love this electric double oven from AEG. With its sleek design and anti-fingerprint coating, this model is perfect for busy kitchens or those who need more than just a single oven. The two separate cavities mean that different foods can be cooked at the same time and allows for catering for larger families or dinner parties.

The catalytic cleaning feature makes cleaning this oven quick and easy, with the grease and fat being absorbed by liners and oxidising, so no need to spend hours scrubbing the grease off this oven.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Anti-fingerprint finish
  • Catalytic cleaning function
  • Integrated grill
We Didn't Like:
  • Bottom oven is small compared to top
AEG NC4013021M
90 %

Our Verdict:  Perfect for bigger families who need the extra space of 2 ovens.

AEG NC4013021M Rating: 9/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Capacity: 46L + 40L
  • Dimensions: 71.5 x 59.4 x 54.8 cm
  • Type: Electric
  • Energy Rating: A
  • Warranty: 2 years

AEG NC4013021M user manual

Download the AEG NC4013021M user manual here.

Beko BDVC667W 60cm

Beko BDVC667W 60cm Wide Electric Cooker Review

Quality electric double oven for people who don’t care about flashy design

This oven and hob combo might not be the prettiest one in the world, but it does what it says on the tin. With a good energy efficiency rating and a nice ceramic hob, you can’t go far wrong for this price.

 

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Generous capacities
  • Main energy rating of A
  • Minute timer for precise cooking
  • Rapid heating ceramic hob for fast cooking
We Didn't Like:
  • Not the prettiest design
  • Grill pan handle sold seperately
  • Looks more like a ‘budget’ buy
Beko BDVC667W
75 %

Our Verdict: Shame that Beko haven’t done more with the design, but it’s still a great family choice.

Beko BDVC667W Rating: 7.5/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 65 L + 35 L capacity makes it a solid family with enough space for cooking all your favourite family recipes
  • Dimensions: 90 x 60 x 60 cm
  • Main compartment has an energy rating of A, the lower one has an energy rating of B
  • Rapidly heating ceramic hob speeds up cooking time
  • Minute timer to help you cook stuff more accurately
  • Despite its price tag, this double doesn’t have the most stylish of exteriors, making it look more ‘budget’ than it actually is
  • You’ll have to buy the grill pan handle

Beko BDVC667W Product Manual

Download the Beko BDVC667W manual here.

Hope you enjoyed these double oven reviews. If you think these might be a bit too big for your kitchen needs, check out our reviews on electric ovens instead.

Best Built-In & Wall Ovens

Built-in ovens are fantastically versatile cookers and are becoming increasingly popular with style-conscious cooks. Built-in ovens are great because they can seamlessly sit within your kitchen units, blending in with your overall kitchen design. There are many different built-in options: wall ovens sit at eye-level, often in custom-designed kitchen cabinets, whereas built-under ovens are made to fit under kitchen worktops. Having a wall oven at eye-level can make it a lot easier to use, but some people still prefer a traditional built-in setup that sits beneath a worktop. Read our reviews and see what kind of oven takes your fancy.

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites
Name BrandOven TypeDimensions (in cm)Cavity size (litres)PriceEnergy ratingBest featuresBuy Now
Smeg SFP9395X Classic smeg-sfp9395x-classic-built-in-multifunction-single-ovenSmegMultifunction Electric 59.5x 89.6 x 54.5cm (H x W x D)77 L££££A- 50 automatic cooking programmes
- pizza oven
-Fingerprint friendly stainless steel
Whirlpool Absolute AKZ6230NBwhirlpool-absolute-akz6230nb-built-in-electric-single-ovenWhirpoolSingle Electric 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.4 cm (H x W x D)65 L££A+-A + energy rating
- 30 automatic cooking programmes
Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RSsamsung-dual-cook-nv75k5571rs-built-in-electric-single-oven-stainless-steelSamsungSingle Multifunctional59.5 x 59.5 x 56.6 cm (H x W x D)75 L£££A
Smeg Cucina DUSF44Xsmeg-cucina-dusf44x-built-under-double-oven-stainless-steelSmegDouble Fan-Assisted Electric 71.7 x 59.7 x 53.8 cm (H x W x D)70 L + 41 L£££A-double grill
-contemporary stainless steel oven design
Stoves SEB700FPSstoves-seb700fps-built-under-double-oven-stainless-steelStovesDouble Fan-Assisted Electric 70.3 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)50 L + 35 L££A and B - reasonable price

Our Top Built-In Oven Pick

Smeg SFP9395X

Smeg SFP9395X Classic Built-In Multifunction Single Oven Review

Quality Smeg oven with innovative features (and yes, it has a pizza oven too)

Oh, Smeg. Putting others to shame with your features, functions and flashy design. This Smeg oven is the latest in luxury design and usability. Packed to the brim with loads of amazing features and functions, this actually has an integrated pizza stone moulding so that you can make your own pizzas and flatbreads. Magical.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Generous capacities (75 litre)
  • Integrated pizza mould
  • Self-cleaning
  • Integrated utility drawer
  • A energy rating
  • Fingerprint resistant
We Didn't Like:
  • The only fault – no child lock
Smeg SFP9395X
100 %

Our Verdict: What other ovens can do pizza too? More than just a gimmicky luxury oven with fancy features, this is a feat of real solid kitchen design and engineering.

Smeg SFP9395X Rating: 10/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • A generous 77 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 59.5x 89.6 x 54.5cm (H x W x D)
  • Fingerprint-friendly stainless steel and dark glass finish to help you keep your appliance clean and stylish with minimum effort
  • Energy efficiency rating: A
  • Animated and interactive controls with glass panels that light up
  • 18 different cooking functions and 50 automatic programmes
  • Pyroclean function means that it cleans itself
  • We love the integrated pizza stone moulding that will allow you to make stonebaked pizzas from the comfort of your own home (and you can use it for naans, pittas, flatbreads, ciabatta – the list goes on)
  • Integrated utility drawer
  • We’d love to see an integrated child lock too

Smeg SFP9395X Classic Aesthetic product manual

Download the Smeg SFP9395X Classic Aesthetic product bulletin here.

Whirlpool Absolute AKZ6230NB

Whirlpool Absolute AKZ6230NB Built-in Electric Single Oven Review

This black Whirlpool makes a change from the sea of white enamel and stainless steel. With great cooking programmes and a soft close door mechanism, this is a brilliant family choice at a competitive price point.

We love the brilliant array of programmes that make your life easier. Extra brownie points for the A+ energy efficiency rating.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A+ energy rating (Impresssive!)
  • 30 frequently cooked recipe programmes
  • Sixth sense technology
  • Touch control
  • Anti-slam door mechanism (soft close)
  • Fast heating
  • 2 year labor and 10 year parts gaurantee
We Didn't Like:
  • We didn’t dislike anything about it
Whirlpool Absolute AKZ6230NB
100 %

Our Verdict: Energy efficient electric oven with a slick black design.

Whirlpool Absolute AKZ6230NB Rating: 10/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 65 litre capacity
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.4 cm
  • Impressive A + rating for energy efficiency
  • Sixth sense technology with 30 frequently cooked recipes as pre-installed cooking programmes
  • Digital display and touch control (with a little beeper that lets you know when food is ready)
  • Replaceable catalytic liners inside (easy to clean and maintain)
  • Soft close mechanism means the door doesn’t snap shut
  • Heats up fast
  • 2 year labour and 10 year parts manufacturer’s guarantee (via registration)

Whirlpool Absolute AKZ 6230 product manual

Download the Whirlpool Absolute Built-In AKZ 6230 NB manual.

Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS

Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS Built In Electric Single Oven Review

Combination oven that allows for precise temperature control

This single combination oven doubles up as a double thanks to its unique dual cook feature. You can actually use the main cavity at different temperatures at the same time, simplifying everything. We love how this Samsung uses the latest technology to give you a solid and practical setup that delivers on quality and usability.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Generous capacities – 75 litres
  • Dual cook function
  • Easy cleaning technology
  • A energy rating
We Didn't Like:
  • We liked everything about this setup!
Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS
100 %

Our Verdict: Brilliant functions and clever use of technology makes this a winner for us.

Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS Rating: 10/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Generous 75 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.6 cm (H x W x D)
  • Energy efficiency rating: A
  • Dual cook function means you can cook food at different temperatures in the main cavity (at the same time!)
  • Dual cook function makes this single oven a great space saver
  • Pyrolytic function makes cleaning easier

Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS Built-In Electric Single product manual

Download the Samsung Dual Cook NV75K5571RS user manual here.

Smeg Cucina DUSF44X

Smeg Cucina DUSF44X Built Under Double Oven Review

Another stylish Smeg setup: stainless steel double oven

We love the smooth curves and its clear mirror finish. This stylish Smeg setup is definitely made for the houseproud cook. We’re pretty sure it would light up any kitchen as either a wall oven or a worktop one. Plus points for the big internal capacity and the Smeg Circulaire fan cooking feature that makes for evenly cooked food using less energy and time.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Very generous capacities
  • Good convection for even cooking
  • Inside enamel liners for easy cleaning
  • LED Display
  • Fast and even heating
We Didn't Like:
  • Temperature controls may take some getting used to at first
Smeg Cucina DUSF44X
95 %

Our Verdict: This gleaming double oven delivers on size and quality of the cooking. A really great choice for a busy family kitchen, this looks and is good.

Smeg Cucina DUSF44X Rating: 9.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 70 L + 41 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 71.7 x 59.7 x 53.8 cm (H x W x D)
  • Good convection all-rounder with a sleek contemporary design
  • Smooth enamel liners inside make for easier cleaning
  • 2 grills (one in each cavity) for those lazy hazy grilling days
  • LED display with programmable timer
  • Designed to fit under a worktop or at eye-level
  • Circulaire fan cooking for fast cooking
  • Heats up very fast and keeps to an even temperature
  • Unclear temperature controls can take getting used to

Smeg Cucina DUSF44X product manual

Download the Smeg Cucina DUSF44X instruction manual here.

Stoves SEB700FPS

Stoves SEB700FPS Built Under Double Oven Review

Double oven manufactured in the UK that goes the distance

Coming from a quality UK brand, this is an environmentally friendlier purchase as it hasn’t had to travel far before it lands in your kitchen. A bit smaller than some of the other doubles we’ve featured, it’s still a good choice and Stoves cookers tend to last a long time too.

A quality integrated oven, this Stoves would fit in nicely in any family kitchen.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Nice fit under worktops
  • Large capacity
  • Manufactured in the UK
  • Cheaper than similar alternatives
We Didn't Like:
  • Not supplied with the grill handle
  • The fan can sometimes be loud
Stoves SEB700FPS
90 %

Our Verdict: A quality integrated setup, this Stoves would fit in nicely in any family kitchen.

Stoves SEB700FPS Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 50 L + 35 L capacity
  • Designed to fit under a worktop, this is a compact double (dimensions: 70.3 x 59.5 x 55 cm  – H x W x D)
  • A and B energy efficiency ratings
  • Fast heating fan from a lower price model
  • Digital display
  • Manufactured in the UK
  • Number of different shelf positions
  • Doesn’t come with grill handle
  • Loud fan which can be offputting

Stoves SEB700FPS Built Under Double product manual

Download the Stoves SEB700FPS Built Under Double manual here.

Integrated wall ovens certainly make a stylish first impression and allow you to play around with your kitchen design a bit more.

Best Gas Ovens

Gas ovens are great – we all love the nostalgia of striking that match and the warm cozy smell of a gas model on full pelt on a cold winter’s morning. Cooking with gas is very important to some people and gas is often used by professional chefs who tend to cook on gas ranges. Though electric alterantives have been taking over recently, many still feel that gas is better. Gas oven technology has come on in leaps and bounds in the last few years and new gas cookers are very tightly regulated and controlled. It’s much easier these days to get an even temperature with gas as designers continue to innovate and improve on earlier cookers.

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites
NameImageBrandDimensions (in cm)Cavity size (litres)PriceEnergy ratingBest featuresBuy Now
Smeg SF6341GVXsmeg-sf6341gvx-classic-built-in-single-gas-oven-stainless-steelSmeg59.2 x 59.7x 54.8 cm (H x W x D)60 L££A-triple glazing
- lit glass fascia
- great cooking functions including rotisserie
Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIXHotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX reviewHotpoint59.5 x 59.5 x 55.1 cm (H x W x D)71 L£££A+- programmable timer
- pyrolytic cleaning system
Stoves SGB600PSstoves-sgb600ps-built-in-gas-single-oven-stainless-steelStoves58.5 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)48 L££A- fully removable shelves
- quiet when in use
Baumatic BO610.5SSRRD-GBSPE-10464802 Baumatic59.4 x 59.4 x 53.5 cm (H x W x D)50 L££A- 2 year warranty
Indesit I5GGW Gas indesit-i5ggw-white-50cm-single-oven-gas-cookerIndesit 60 x 50 x 90 cm (H x W x D)65 L£A- budget buy

Our Best Pick Gas Oven

Smeg SF6341GVX

Smeg SF6341GVX Classic Built-In Single Gas Oven Review

High quality gas oven that doesn’t skimp on style

This gas offering not only looks amazing, it’s packed full of extra features like telescopic shelves, triple glazing and an extra deep tray. Another great quality setup from Smeg, this gas oven delivers on style and substance.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • 60 litre capacity
  • Gas safety valve
  • Illuminating smart glass panels
  • Fan & rotisserie functions
  • Closed door grilling
  • Smart telescopic shelving
  • Comes with shelves and pans
We Didn't Like:
  • If the smart glass someone gets broken it’s expensive to replace
Smeg SF6341GVX
100 %

Our Verdict: We certainly took a shine to this shiny Smeg gas setup. We love the rotisserie cooking function and the smart glass panels that light up –  a great kitchen appliance investment.

Smeg SF6341GVX Rating: 10/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 60 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 59.2 x 59.7x 54.8 cm (H x W x D)
  • Gas safety valve
  • Energy rating: A
  • As is typical of Smeg, this model features smart glass panels that light up when in use, making it look stylish and sleek
  • Eight cooking functions, including fan and rotisserie
  • Removable inner door glass and easy-clean enamel interior keeps this super simple to clean
  • Closed door grilling
  • Telescopic shelving so you can check on your food without removing it
  • 4 levels for cooking (this comes with some good shelves and pans)

Smeg SF6341GVX product manual

Download the Smeg SF6341GVX product bulletin here.

Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX

Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX review

From the Jamie Oliver Hotpoint partnership comes this built in electric single oven, ideal for cooking all of your favourite meals with minimal effort. This model sports a programmable timer which can be set to automatically shut off the oven when the food is ready, meaning no more burnt chips or dried out chicken, while the pyrolytic self-cleaning setting reduces leftover food and grease to ash, allowing you to simply wipe it away without the need for harsh chemicals or endless scrubbing.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Pyrolytic cleaning system
  • Programmable time with automatic shut off
  • Interior light
We Didn't Like:
  • Only one shelf provided
Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX
95 %

Our Verdict: An excellent and well priced choice for those who enjoy cooking a wide range of meals.

Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX Rating: 9.5/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Capacity: 71L
  • Type: Electric
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 55.1
  • Energy Rating: A+
  • Warranty: 1 Year

Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX user manual

Download the Hotpoint Class 4 SA4844PIX user manual here. 

Stoves SGB600PS

Stoves SGB600PS Built In Gas Single Oven Review

Single gas oven meets electric grill

This stylish number from Stoves combines the quality of a gas oven with the precision of an electric grill. This is a great for smaller families or couples who aren’t looking to cook huge joints of meat.

We love the simple stainless steel design and minute timer that keeps us on track when we get distracted watching Great British Bake Off!

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Easy clean enamel surfaces
  • A ernergy rating
  • Quiet when in use
  • Fits under a worktop
  • Fully removable shelves that glide
We Didn't Like:
  • Lower capacity than similarly priced alternatives
Stoves SGB600PS
90 %

Our Verdict: A lovely small setup with a powerful electric grill, this Stoves is a great family kitchen appliance.

Stoves SGB600PS Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Single 48 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 58.5 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)
  • Easy-clean enamel internal surfaces
  • Fully removable shelves that glide (great safety feature as people often get burns when they are messing about with shelves)
  • Fits under a worktop
  • A energy rating
  • Easy to use
  • Quie

Stoves SGB600PS Built In Gas Single product manual

Download the Stoves SGB600PS Built In Gas Single manual here.

Baumatic BO610.5SS 60cm

Baumatic BO610.5SS 60cm Built-in Single Gas Oven Review

Good capacity, solid single gas oven

Slightly less polished than some of the others we’ve reviewed, this still delivers on usability and durability and it has a more generous internal capacity than the two Stoves gas offerings we’ve looked at.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Smooth enamel interior
  • Minute minder
  • Flame safety – gas cuts off if flame goes out
  • 2 years labor and parts guarantee
We Didn't Like:
  • Low build quality
  • Knobs feel cheap
Baumatic BO610.5SS
70 %

Our Verdict: A good 2-year warranty period and generous internal capacity makes this a great gas setup buy from Baumatic.

Baumatic BO610.5SS Rating: 7/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 50 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 59.4 x 59.4 x 53.5 cm (H x W x D)
  • Smooth enamel interior
  • Minute minder
  • Flame safety device cuts the gas if the flame goes out for extra safety
  • 2 years labour and parts guarantee
  • Low on build quality and knobs feel a bit cheap
  • Despite its looks, it is a long-lasting product

Baumatic BO610.5S Single Gas user manual

Download the Baumatic BO610.5SS user manual here.

Indesit I5GGW White 50cm

Indesit I5GGW Gas Cooker Review

Cheap and cheerful Indesit gas oven

This is a super simple gas oven and hob that will help you get set up for the first time in your kitchen. Nothing quite beats the feeling of cooking with gas, and this is a great kitchen appliance starter. You get what you pay for, and it doesn’t have any of the fancy features, but it’s a good gas model nonetheless.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating
  • Flame at the bottom gives even heat
  • Extra storage underneath
We Didn't Like:
  • No the temperature control on the grill
  • Only has one shelf
Indesit I5GGW
75 %

Our Verdict: Cheap and cheerful, does what it says on the tin. A great budget buy.

Indesit I5GGW Rating: 7.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 59 L capacity
  • Dimensions: 60 x 50 x 90 cm
  • Only has one shelf
  • A rated for energy efficiency
  • 1 year warranty
  • Classic white enamel look (not for everyone, but it gets the job done)
  • Extra storage at the bottom
  • No temperature control on the grill
  • Heated by a gas flame underneath which makes for even heat (but it also means that food near the bottom may burn)

Indesit I5GGW product manuals

Download the Indesit I5GGW manual here.

We hope you enjoyed these great gas oven reviews. If you don’t think gas is right for you, check out some of our electric oven reviews instead.

Best Electric Ovens

Some people say gas hobs are better, but electric ovens are starting to take over as Britain’s domestic ovens of choice. Easy to maintain and install with more even cooking temperatures, we can see why. Electric options are versatile and safe, and can be programmed to work in a number of different ways. It’s their wide array of functions like combi grill, rotisserie and various settings that make electric ovens so user-friendly and give you that nice even bake. Electric setups can ever so slightly bump up your utility bill, so always go for an energy efficient model if you can (A rated or better).

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites
NameImageBrandOven TypeDimensions (in cm)Cavity size (litres)Energy ratingBest featuresPriceBuy Now
Miele H6260BP PureLine miele-h6260bp-pureline-single-electric-oven-clean-steelMieleIntegrated Fan-Assisted Electric 59.5 x 56 x 55cm (H x W x D)76 LA +- Pyrolytic enamel interior for easy clean - lit glass fascia - electronic controls££££
Hotpoint SI4854CIXhotpoint-si4854cix-electric-oven-stainless-steelHotpointMultifunction Double Electric59.5 x 59.5 x 56.4 cm (H x W x D)71 LA +- A + energy rating - generous oven capacity - tilting grill££
BOSCH HBN331E3Bbosch-hbn331eb-single-electric-oven-brushed-stainless-steelBosch Single Fan-Assisted Electric 56 x 56.8 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)66 LA- 3D Hot Air function - 2 year guarantee£££
Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX reviewHotpointElectric 59.5 x 59.5 x 55.1 cm (H x W x D)71 LA+- Steam clean setting£££
Logik LBFANX14logik-lbfanx14-electric-oven-stainless-steel-ovenLogicSingle Fan-Assisted Electric 59.5 x 59.5 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)65 LA- budget buy£

Our Best Electric Oven Pick

Miele H6260BP PureLine

Miele H6260BP PureLine Single Electric Oven Review

Luxury oven with nine cooking functions for the discerning home cook

This is on a different plane altogether. Integrated, stylish design and nine different cooking functions make this a considered choice from a highly-respected appliance brand.

Cooking with this is truly a pleasure and Miele’s commitment to quality means that it’s not only supremely stylish but durable too.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Massive 76 litre capacity
  • 9 unique cooking functions
  • Powerful variable Grill
  • Illuminating glass fascia
  • Door stays cool
  • Self-cleaning interior
  • 2 year guarantee
We Didn't Like:
  • We loved everything about this!
Miele H6260BP PureLine
100 %

Our Verdict: Once you go Miele PureLine, you don’t go back. The specs speak for themselves.

Miele H6260BP PureLine Rating: 10/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • 76 L capacity, which is one of the biggest singles we’ve featured
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 56 x 55 cm (H x W x D)
  • Integrated electric fan
  • Nine cooking functions to make your life easier (including a high moisture one for roasting joints of meat, and a near instant speedy-cooking one for when you just can’t wait)
  • Electronic sensor controls monitor all cooking functions, including a powerful variable grill
  • PureLine design and glass fascia that lights up for a stylish home kitchen
  • Cooling fan functions keep the door cool and the insides safe
  • Pyrolytic, self-cleaning enamel interior
  • 2 year guarantee
  • It’s not the cheapest – but it makes up for it with quality and style

Miele H6260BP PureLine Single Electric product manual

Download the operating and installation instructions for your Miele here.

Hotpoint SI4854CIX

HOTPOINT Class 4 SI4 854 C IX Electric Oven Review

Great capacity multifunction oven with an A+ energy rating

Another solid offering from Hotpoint. A fantastic find, this Hotpoint combines an attractive price with excellent capacity, functionality, and a stellar A+ energy rating.

Going for a cheap doesn’t mean scrimping on anything here: you’ll be able to make all your family favorites in this generous-sized setup.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • 71 litre capacity
  • 1 year guarantee
  • A+ energy rating (Impressive!)
  • Tilting grill
  • Cataltyic liners for easy cleaining
We Didn't Like:
  • We didn’t find anything we dislike about this!
Hotpoint SI4854CIX
90 %

Our Verdict: Energy-efficient A+ rated double oven, perfect for larger families.

Hotpoint SI4854CIX Rating: 9/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 71 L multifunction setup, which is a good size for larger families and ambitious cooks
  • One year manufacturer’s guarantee
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.4 cm (H x W x D)
  • Energy rating of A+ which is great to see on such a cheap product (and it’s good for your utility bills too)
  • Tilting grill is a great feature for when you want even cooking results, but having the grill as part of the main oven can be a bit clunky
  • Easy-clean catalytic liners inside make your life easier when cleaning

 

Hotpoint SI4854CIX Electric product manual

Download Hotpoint manuals here.

Bosch HBN331EB

BOSCH HBN331E3B Electric Oven Review

Fuss-free family oven with good safety features

Bosch is a trusted appliance brand, and we can see why. Every time Bosch come out with something, you can definitely feel their commitment to solid design and quality. In this, they’ve really kept to a streamlined and fuss-free silhouette, with pared-down and useful functions.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • A energy rating
  • Easy clean enamel interior
  • 3D hot air function removes need to pre-heat
  • Child lock
  • Two year warranty
We Didn't Like:
  • You have to bend down to see the controls/display
Bosch HBN331EB
90 %

Our Verdict: You can combine this with the Bosch electric induction hob pack for the full Bosch kitchen range. Great for growing families, this Bosch is safe and easy to use.

Bosch HBN331EB Rating: 9/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 66 L capacity electric fan setupwith four cooking functions
  • Energy rating: A
  • Dimensions: 56 x 56.8 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)
  • Type: Fan
  • Easy-clean enamel insides
  • 3D Hot Air function lets you cook at a lower temperature without needing to preheat (such a time-saver)
  • Two year manufacturer’s guarantee for extra peace of mind
  • Kids’ safety lock is a brilliant feature, but the air does come out quite hot when you open the door so be mindful when cooking together with younger ones
  • Easy to use, this is low on ‘fuss’

Bosch HBN331E3B Electric product manual

Download the Bosch HBN331E3B installation guide.

Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX

Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX reviewThe Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX is another gem from the Jamie Oliver Hotpoint collaboration providing a perfectly even cooking experience. The sleek touch panel is an attractive and modern touch which can be used to set the programmable timer and control the interior light whilst cooking.

Multiple functions make this the perfect oven for people who like all different types of cooking, even featuring a dough proving setting for those who enjoy home baking, helping you to achieve the perfect loaf every time.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Multiple functions
  • Sleek touch screen
  • Steam clean setting
We Didn't Like:
  • Only one rack included
  • Grill pan handle not included
Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX
80 %

Our Verdict:  An excellent choice for those who enjoy lots of types of cooking, with a dough proving setting for those who enjoy baking.

Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX Rating: 8/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 55.1
  • Type: Electric
  • Energy Rating: A+
  • Capacity: 71L
  • Warranty: 1 Year

Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX user manual

Download the Hotpoint Class 2 SA2844HIX  user manual here.

Logik LBFANX14

LOGIK LBFANX16 Electric Oven Reviews

Super budget buy – cheap electric oven from Logik

This is for the budget-conscious chef who doesn’t want to spend too much on a kitchen appliance at this stage. It’s cheap and cheerful; you won’t be getting any additional cooking functions, but it’s a reliable budget buy you can’t go too wrong with.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • 65 litre capacity
  • A energy rating
  • Good solid build
  • 1 year warranty
We Didn't Like:
  • Not the prettiest design
Logik LBFANX14
80 %

Our Verdict: Not the most beautiful, this Logik is a good first buy for a young couple who aren’t looking for anything special and just want to get their kitchen kitted out fast.

Logik LBFANX14 Rating: 8/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 65 L capacity electric fan
  • Energy rating: A
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 57.5 cm (H x W x D)
  • Easy-clean enamel inside
  • One-year manufacturer’s warranty
  • You get what you pay for: don’t expect loads of fancy features, this is still a solid single purchase
  • Doesn’t look that stylish compared to some of the others we have reviewed and may come across a bit ‘cheap’

Logik LBFANX14 Electric product manual

Download the Logik LBFANX14 Electric manual here.

Electric ovens are great, but some people still prefer gas. Think you might need a gas oven instead? Check out our gas oven reviews here for some great gas cookers.

Best Budget & Cheap Ovens

Cheap ovens these days are easy to come by, whether you are looking for gas or electric. Buying a good oven on a budget doesn’t mean a huge trade-off in quality if you know what you’re looking for. Sure — when buying cheap you will have to balance size with quality and style, but it’s totally possible to get a fully functioning setup and a good deal at the same time. To really drive your price down, you’ll need to trade in ceramic hobs and stainless steel doors in for more humble design. We’ve gathered some great cheap options for the money-conscious cook.  We cover electric, mini, and we’ve even included a budget-buy oven for those who are looking to make a big saving with their kitchen appliances this winter.

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites
Name Brand Oven TypeDimensions (in cm)Cavity size (litres)Price rangeEnergy ratingBest featuresRating 
Swan SX1011WRRD-GBSPE-10116856SwanSingle Conventional Electric 90 x 50 x 60 cm (H x W x D)60 L£A- low price
- adjustable height
5
New World NW601FPnew-world-nw601fp-electric-oven-stainless-steelNew World Single Fan-Assisted Electric 58.5 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)61 L£A-cooking programmes
-fun oven colours
5
Candy ACOM609XMCandy ACOM609XM reviewCandySingle Fan-Assisted Electric 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.7 cm (H x W x D)65 L£A-low price
-easy clean enamel
-large capacity
8.5
HOTPOINT UHS53XShotpoint-uhs53xs-electric-built-under-double-oven-stainless-steelHotpointElectric Fan-Assisted Double Oven88 x 59.7 x 578 cm (H x W x D)59 L + 37L£B-stainless steel design4.3
Delonghi E12012Wdelonghi-e12012w-electric-mini-oven-whiteDelonghiMini Electric 41 x 51 x 30.5 cm (H x W x D)12 L£-- super lightweight3.9

Our Best Budget Oven Buy

Swan SX1011W

Swan SX1011W 50cm Single Oven Electric Cooker Review

Cheap & cheerful basic electric model that won’t break the bank

This Swan number really is a budget must-have. We love how it fits the classic silhouette and doesn’t mess about with any unnecessary extra features.

Simple, clean and classic, this Swan electric model hits all the right budget buttons. Cheap and reliable, this electric oven with four hobs is an absolute kitchen essential that graces many family and student homes up and down the country.

Click Here for Best Price
Pros and Cons

We Liked:
  • 60 litre capacity
  • Adjustable height
  • Large window for great visibility
  • Removable glass for cleaning
  • A energy rating
We Didn't Like:
  • Plain design
Swan SX1011W
100 %

Our Verdict: A fantastic all-rounder, this is cheap and cheerful design at its best.

Swan SX1011W Rating: 10/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 60 L capacity conventional electric model with four hobs
  • Height adjustable so you can fit it level with your kitchen worktops (full dimensions are 90 x 50 x 60 cm (H x W x D)
  • Great roomy window so you don’t have to open the door to check on that all-important crumble
  • Removable glass door and easy-clean enamel interior to help messy cooks
  • Doesn’t have much of a ‘wow’ factor but it’s a solid budget buy and quality for the price (you can also get it in black)
  • A-rated for energy efficiency, which is great for this price-point

Swan SX1011W Electric product manual

Download the Swan SX1011W Electric manual here.

New World NW601FP Electric Review

NEW WORLD NW601FP Electric Oven Review

British-made electric oven that comes in fun shades

It’s always nice to support homegrown manufacturing, and with a great little electric setup like this, it’s not exactly hard. We love that this comes in fun colours that will brighten up any kitchen. It also gets brownie points for including some cooking programmes that we usually see on more expensive cookers.

This is a great because its low price tag includes a multitude of useful features that make family cooking easier. We love the effort that’s gone into the design of this (you can get it in red too).

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • 61 litre capacity
  • A energy rating
  • Gryofan even cooking technology
  • Easy clean enamel interior
  • 1 year gauarantee
  • Looks like a high-end product
We Didn't Like:
  • No timer
New World NW601FP
100 %

Our Verdict: A great all rounder with a whole load of features that simply should not be present at this price, a great buy.

New World NW601FP Rating: 10/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • Capacity: 61 litres
  • Dimensions: 58.5 x 59.5 x 55 cm (H x W x D)
  • Type: Fan
  • Energy rating: A
  • Smart defrost programme & Gyrofan technology for more even cooking
  • Easy-clean enamel interior
  • One year manufacturer’s guarantee
  • Simple and sophisticated stainless steel makes this look more high-end that its price. It also comes in other great shades like metallic red – making this a cheap style statement!

New World NW601FP product manual

Download the New World NW601FP Electric manual here.

Candy ACOM609XM

Candy ACOM609XM reviewAn excellent budget option for any kitchen, the Candy ACOM609XM multifunction oven is perfect for preparing a range of dishes. We love the sleek look of this stainless steel oven and the touch controls give it a modern and futuristic feel whilst still being easy to use.

The grease proof enamel coating means that this appliance is easy to clean and won’t require hours of endless scrubbing.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Attractive price tag
  • Modern design
  • Easy clean enamel coating
  • 8 different functions
We Didn't Like:
  • Grill pan handle not included
Candy ACOM609XM
85 %

Our Verdict: Excellent value for money, an easy to use budget option for any home.

Candy ACOM609XM Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Type: Electric
  • Dimensions: 59.5 x 59.5 x 56.7
  • Energy Rating: A
  • Capacity: 65L
  • Warranty: 1 Year

Candy ACOM609XM user manual

Download the Candy ACOM609XMuser manual here.

HOTPOINT UHS53XS Electric Built-under Double Review

Hotpoint Newstyle UHS53XS Review

Stylish & affordable stainless steel electric double oven

We love this stylish stainless steel design that is a bit of a steal. A built-under double setup like this offers great value for money when trying to pack as much as you can into a small kitchen space.

The top compartment is reserved for smaller dishes and grilling, while the bottom of this double is perfect for roasting joints or larger oven dishes.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Half-width or full-width grilling options
  • 59 liter main capacity
  • Seperate top oven or grill
  • One year guarantee
  • Fan assisted for rapid, even cooking
We Didn't Like:
  • B energy rating
  • Doors get hot when cooking
HOTPOINT UHS53XS
85 %

Our Verdict: Great for everyday cooking, this is a good double oven that lets itself down with its lower energy efficiency rating.

HOTPOINT UHS53XS Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • 59 L capacity main fan oven with easy-clean enamel inside (37 L second cavity)
  • Dimensions: 88 x 59.7 x 578 cm (H x W x D)
  • Fan-assisted main oven that reduces cooking time
  • The main compartment features three cooking functions, including defrost, fan, and slow cooking, while the second conventional oven offers grill and traditional cooking
  • Half-width or full-width grill to suit your grilling needs
  • One year manufacturer’s guarantee
  • Disappointing overall energy rating of B, which will drive up utility costs
  • Doors get a bit hot when cooking

Hotpoint UHS53XS Electric Double product manual

Download the Hotpoint UHS53XS Electric Double manual here.

Best (super) budget buy for kitchen first-timers

Delonghi E12012W Electric Mini Review

DELONGHI E12012W Electric Mini Oven Reviews

This mini oven is a great cheap appliance for students or kitchen newbies. A portable electric oven like this is a really brilliant piece of kitchen kit because you can simply place it on any safe surface, plug it in, and you’re off. This won’t last forever and you won’t be able to make huge roasts in it, but it’s a great little starter.

Click Here for Best Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Generousn capacities
  • Energy rating of A
  • Minute timer for precise cooking
  • Rapid heating ceramic hob for fast cooking
We Didn't Like:
  • Not the prettiest design
  • Grill pan handle sold seperately
  • Looks like a ‘budget’ product, which it is
Delonghi E12012W
78 %

Our Verdict: A brilliant piece of budget kit, you will probably outgrow this mini oven quite quickly and have to move on to something bigger.

Delonghi E12012W Rating: 7.8/10

Specifications and Downloads

Specifications:

  • At 50 cm wide, this is a lovely little mini, but you’ve only got 12 L of cooking space, so you won’t be able to do any ambitious cooking (normal ovens have capacities of 50 L +)
  • Dimensions: 41 x 51 x 30.5 cm (H x W x D)
  • Single-oven with a grill and all the conventional features you’d expect. Small but perfectly formed
  • Super lightweight (this weighs only 8KGs); this is safe to be stored away when not in use if you fancy clearing some kitchen space
  • At 1400W electric power, this isn’t the most powerful oven you’ll ever use, and you won’t get to go above 220°C
  • It has no digital display and no programmable features or fancy functions

Delonghi E12012W Electric Mini product manual

Download the Delonghi instruction manual here.

Not sure whether you want to go for the cheap model after all? Check out some of our other oven reviews to see whether there’s another oven model out there that is better suited for your needs.

Buyer’s Guide

Oven Buying Guide

Buying an oven will be one of your biggest kitchen purchases; it’s best to get clued up on all the different types by reading our reviews and getting to grips with our buying guide. It’s the kind of appliance that you don’t want anything going wrong with as it will be both tricky and expensive to fix. Make sure you know exactly what you are getting yourself into when you make your decisions and always be clear on warranty periods. To help you navigate the world of buying, we’ll be covering fuel, function and design.

Different Types Of Oven

Ovens are separated out into many subcategories that you may find confusing at first. The main categories you need to know are fuel and function, followed by design and dimensions.

Initially, you will have to make a choice between an oven that is fuelled by electricity or fuelled by gas.

Then you will have to make some decisions on what cooking functions you’d like best, and what sort of oven design will fit in with your existing kitchen design (built-in or standalone).

You will also have to consider how much space you have to devote to your oven, and how you will manage the installation process. Often you’ll need professional and qualified engineers to do the fitting – it’s not something you should be attempting on your own without any professional assistance.

Gas vs. electric ovens

  • A gas oven is fuelled by gas, whereas an electric oven will be plugged into your main electricity supply
  • Gas ovens and hobs are often seen as a more ‘authentic’ way of cooking, but electric ovens are increasingly the norm as they offer a more consistent temperature
  • With gas, you may struggle to get a completely even cooking temperature inside, though gas ranges and hobs are favoured by the country’s top chefs as the best
  • Gas ovens are slightly cheaper to run than electric ovens
  • Electric ovens may be conventional electric ovens, or fan assisted ones. Fan assisted ones are usually preferable, as they keep energy costs and preheating times down
  • Both electric and gas ovens will have different cooking functions like grill, fan, etc.

Oven Functions

Different types offer different cooking functions. The oven type is the general category of oven, like conventional electric or fan-assisted electric. These types will then be broken down into functions like fan-assisted grill, electric grill, fan oven, fan-assisted gas oven, etc.

A function determines how the oven heats up and will influence your cooking results. Most setups offer a number of functions, with fan ovens and grills becoming increasingly standard. The benefit of fan-assisted cooking is a more economical way of cooking and a more even bake.

A combination oven has many different types of functions, like fan, electric grill, microwave etc. A combination oven may have the edge over a single function oven as it allows you to be more versatile. Most standard ovens these days come with a variety of oven functions, but only ones that offer microwaves are generally called combination ovens. This can be a great option, but you might have to trade off some oven power. Read our microwave and combination oven reviews here.

Different Oven Designs: Built In VS. Stand Alone

A built in oven means that you can integrate your oven with the rest of you kitchen design, either fitting it under a worktop or at sitting it in a special eye-level cabinet. It depends really what you think looks best in your kitchen, but fitting an oven in an eye-level cabinet means that you will need to set your hob on a separate part of the kitchen worktop.

A standalone model is also a good option as it will make for less work during installation and is a popular choice in managed properties as it offers an easy ‘all in one’ solution. An oven range is pretty much always standalone, as it’s such a big bit of kitchen kit.

Designs also vary in terms of colour and design. A classic white enamel oven is joined by black, stainless steel and even mirrored glass ovens. It’s possible to have coloured and quirky ovens too, with red and cream being popular appliance colour choices.

Luxery VS. Basic

Luxury ovens come with an impressive array of features like pre-programmable cooking programmes, self-cleaning pyrolytic lining and even integrated pizza and flatbread features. A luxury oven from one of the best brands will look a lot more high end and will be finished off to a higher standard. More expensive choices are made from better materials and have longer warranty periods.

On the other hand, a basic oven is often good enough for standard kitchens and cooking, and you may not need all the bells and whistles that a fancy one offers. A budget oven can be a good purchase, but make sure you read lots of reviews before making a purchase decision. (Here are our reviews of cheap ovens).

Replacing an appliance is time-consuming and expensive, so it’s often best to aim for mid range ovens and cookers, and to sign up for any warranty periods. You don’t want anything going wrong with your appliance, as it will be a huge hassle to fix.

Single VS. Double

A single oven has one cavity, whereas a double oven will have two. Often double ovens have a main cavity that will roughly be the same size as a standard single oven, with a smaller oven sitting on top that will double up as grill.

A double is best if you’re planning on doing lots of complex cooking, or prefer a bit more space for your family meals. Often shared houses will have double setups.

Energy Effeciency And A Rated Ovens

Being more efficient with the energy you use is better for the environment, and best of all better for your purse strings. All cookers are rated on a universal EU energy efficiency scale, with  A+++ being the highest energy efficiency standard. An energy scale like this makes it easy for you to tell at a glance how energy efficient your appliance is.

The Energy Saving Trust recommends that you look for A rated ovens as a “new A+ rated electric oven will consume 40 percent less energy than a B rated one”.  Read more about energy efficient appliances on Energy Saving Trust’s website.

How To Choose The Right Oven

Deciding on what is best for you depends on your kitchen objectives and habits. Some people review ovens from a very functional perspective, others need a little more from their cookers in terms of design and brand.

Consider the following when purchasing:

  • What’s your budget like? Don’t forget to factor in insurance and installation. Remember that scrimping now may not pay off in the long run
  • Do you need a double or single?
  • Have you measured your oven cavity?  What dimensions are you going to need? (Not all ovens are the same size)
  • Do you know how much oven space you actually need? (Remember, oven cavities are always measured in litres)
  • What sort of features and programmes are you likely to need on a regular basis? Does it make sense to pay extra for them?
  • How important is quality and design to you? What about the brand?
  • Do you need any extra safety features?
  • Have you read enough reviews to make your decision?

Compare oven ranges at different retailers – you’ll be surprised at the differences in pricing.

Kitchen Appliance Buying Best Tips

Here are our best tips for buying a kitchen appliance:

  • Plan carefully before you make your appliance purchase by reading appliance reviews on different websites
  • Beware of financing plans, they may be more costly in the long run as you’ll have to pay interest
  • Shop around and don’t commit too soon – there may be a better model out there
  • Make sure you are clear on what your priorities are in terms of safety, usability, price and design
  • Look for a competitive warranty package
  • Utilise combination deals for ovens and hobs wherever you can
  • Don’t get blinded by a fancy brand, dig deeper and look at product specification and reviews to get a real picture of the best appliance for you.

Oven Care & Installation

Most ovens need to be installed by a professional and licensed engineer. You are dealing with complex parts of your home like the main gas or electricity supply and you really don’t want to mess either of those things up.

  • If you don’t follow correct installation procedures, your insurance won’t be valid
  • A wrongly installed oven is highly dangerous
  • We’ve collated a lot of the manuals in our reviews so you can get the best out of your purchase, but don’t attempt to install your oven on your own

Ovens can be some of the dirtiest and hardest to clean appliances in our kitchens. Left to their own devices, they quickly become caked in dirt and grime. It’s important to stay on top of cleaning to best extend the lifetime and value of your appliance. You will want to have frequent mini cleans, as well as deep cleans and scrubs. You won’t always need to resort to harsh chemical cleaners either, there are plenty of natural ways to remove grime and grease. Check out these best cleaning tips.

Oven Buying FAQS

What’s the difference between an oven and a cooker?

These words are sometimes used interchangeably, but technically cookers would include the top hotplate known as the hob. An oven is strictly speaking just the oven cavity used for cooking.

What is a built-in oven?

A built-in oven is one that can be fitted under a kitchen surface, or integrated into an existing wall design as part of a custom cabinet. Sometimes built-ins are known as wall ovens because they sit in the wall.

Is gas better than electric?

Not necessarily, but gas hobs are sometimes preferred because they provide a faster and potentially more ‘authentic’ cooking experience. This is because you can easily control the flames on the hob. A gas setup may actually be slightly more unreliable than an electric one.

Are all ovens a standard size?

No, they come in many shapes and sizes and vary based on the brand and design. Dimensions are usually given in centimetres, with an internal capacity given in litres. The best ways to get a feel for an oven is to know your current oven’s size and compare that, or go and see some models in a showroom.

Where are ovens manufactured?

They’re manufactured all over the world, with some brands assembling parts overseas. There are some brands that manufacture in the UK, like Stoves and Belling. Companies like Zanussi, Smeg and Indesit are based in Italy, whereas AEG and Miele are German.

Which ovens do chefs use?

Chefs use huge ranges in commercial kitchens. These are often custom built. They tend to combine gas tops with electric ovens to combine speed with even cooking.

Which ovens are best for baking?

Baking benefits from an even temperature to encourage an even bake. An electric fan setup is probably the easiest and best for bakers to get to grips with. Gas setups are good because gas lets off some moisture, but again you might struggle to get a consistent temperature.

Who services and installs ovens?

It depends whether it’s an electric or gas oven, but generally it will either be a gas engineer or an electrical engineer. Often when you buy your oven, you will be given details on who to call for installation. Alternatively, you can find someone online. Make sure that you use someone reputable and certified, as an installation gone wrong will be extremely costly.

When will ovens go on sale?

In store

New models are released in September and October so older cookers get discounted at that time of year to make space for new shiny cookers. There are also usually some of the best deals to be had around January. If someone has a monthly sales quota, you might get a better deal at the end of the month. Weekends can be bad if you’re going to buy in store as they will be busy and rushed.

Online

You are more likely to find the best online deals all year round, as online selling tends to be a little less seasonal. It’s still probably worth shopping in late Autumn and early winter though if you’re looking for good deals on older cookers. Use online review websites and money saving websites to help you compare big brand cookers.

Why are ovens so expensive?

Getting one that works well and is safe to use is a feat of engineering. You are paying for the materials, but also the design and testing of prototypes. Simple enamel ovens and cookers will be cheaper than nice stainless steel or coloured ones.

Why do ovens stop working?

Ovens malfunction due to a number of different reasons. It could be that they malfunction due to poor installation, wear and tear, or inappropriate use. Most can last up to 15 years in use, but cheaper and newer cookers will need replacing faster. It’s very important to take care of ovens and keep them clean to lengthen their shelf life.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply