Best Tumble Dryer 2017 – Buyer’s Guide

We know just how important buying the right tumble dryer for your home can be. But with so many different choices out there it can be hard to know which one will be the right buy. Tumble dryers don’t come cheap and we want to guide you to buying the perfect machine for your home. Whether you are looking for automatic, manual, vented or condenser, we have got you covered to make the most informed decision possible.

Below we have compared the top tumble dryers of 2016 to help you make an informed decision. We have compared the models on power, capacity, and energy rating to bring you the best deal for your home.

Top Tumble Dryers – Our Pick

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites

Top Condenser: Bosch Serie 6 WVG30461GB

Top Vented: White Knight WK44AW

Product Comparison

ProductImageWeightDimensionsCapacityNoise levelEnergy ClassDrying TypePriceBuy Now
Bosch Serie 6 WVG30461GBbosch-wvg30461gb79 kg60 x 59 x 85 cm8 kg52 dBACondenser£585.50
White Knight WK44AWwhite-knight-wk44aw32 kg53 x 59.6 x 85 cm6 kg69 dBCVented£164.99
Beko DRVT71Wbeko-drvt71w31 kg60 x 54 x 85 cm7 kg66 dBCVented£149.00
Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500russell-hobbs-rh7vtd50033 kg84.0 x 59.5 x 55 cm7 kg69 dBCVented£162.00
White Knight C44A7Bwhite-knight-c44a7b33 kg59.6 cm x 53 cm x 85 cm7 kg62 dBCVented£169.99
GRUNDIG GTN38110GCW Condenser Tumble DryerGRUNDIG GTN38110GCW Condenser Tumble Dryer Review40 kg850 x 595 x 600 cm8 kg 66 dBBCondenser£329.99
HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser Tumble DryerHOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser Tumble Dryer Review36.87 kg85 x 59.5 x 61 cm9 kg69 dBBCondenser£269.99

Best Condenser

Bosch Serie 6 WVG30461GB Review

Bosch WVG30461GB Condenser Tumble Dryer

The Bosch Serie 6 is one of the most energy efficient available. It drys clothes economically and is an energy class A machine. With a speedy was cycle that is 65% faster and uses 50% less energy than the normal, the Bosch Serie 6 means business. With eco-silence drive, the Bosch used magnets rather than brushes to rotate the motor making it close to silent and reducing damage to parts inside the machine.

Everybody’s experienced the annoyance of turning on a cycle and noticing you missed some clothes. A nice added feature to the Bosch Serie 6 is you can add clothes to your dry even after you have started the cycle. This is a nifty feature, especially in busy homes. It is a condenser tumble dryer which is suitable for any home in the UK.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Able to make adjustments to cycle even after you’ve selected a programme
  • Easy to use
  • Reliable
  • Energy efficient
We Didn't Like:
  • The programs are not immediately intuitive, may take a while to get used to
  • No crease resistant cycle
  • Touch screen can be annoying as it’s easy to accidentally turn it off

Bosch Serie 6 WVG30461GB
98 %

Our Verdict: Highly efficient and eco-friendly. Our favourite of the condenser variants.

Bosch Serie 6 WVG30461GB Rating: 9.8/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 79 Kg
  • Dimensions: 60 x 59 x 85 cm
  • Capacity: 8 kg
  • Noise level: 52 dB
  • Energy Class A
  • Drying Type: Condenser

Best Vented

White Knight WK44AW Review

White Knight WK44AW Vented Tumble Dryer Review

The White Knight WK44AW is an effective and low-cost machine that is suitable for most homes. Its conveniently designed and will fit into most spaces. The machine is relatively quiet while making a low whirring noise when running. It’s a powerful, no frills machine that does exactly what you would expect with no fancy features.

The White Night is well built and sturdy and dried heavy loads in a short period of time. It’s a cheap and cheerful machine and works well in a busy home. The White Night is vented so it uses a bit more energy than other machines.

 

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Quiet
  • Large drum capacity (6 kg)
  • Two heat settings
  • Lighter machine (32 kg)
We Didn't Like:
  • Vented so needs a vent to pass hot air
  • Energy class C
  • No fancy settings and features
  • No display

White Knight WK44AW
93 %

Our Verdict: A good quality, low cost, vented machine suitable for most homes.

White Knight WK44AW Rating: 9.3/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 32 kg
  • Dimensions: 53 x 59.6 x 85 cm
  • Capacity: 6 kg
  • Noise level: 69 dB
  • Energy Class C
  • Drying Type: Vented

Beko DRVT71W Review

Beko DRVT71W Tumble Dryer Review

The Beko DRVT71W is impressive because of its load capacity. It can handle drying large volumes of laundry in each cycle, saving you money on multiple drying cycles. It comes with indicator lights for drying, filter cleaning, end of cycle and programme progress. It has a timed dry of up to 130 minutes and an auto cool down phase to prepare laundry for the next of cycle.

The Beko is a freestanding vented machine so needs a vent to filter out hot air from the machine. It’s a bit on the noisy side than when compared with other models. It also isn’t as energy efficient as alternatives with an energy class of C. Overall it is an effective machine and suitable for all houses.

 

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Automatic anti crease
  • Easy to use
  • Large capacity (104 Liters)
  • Small and easy to fit in smaller kitchens and houses
We Didn't Like:
  • Noisy
  • Energy class C
  • No LED display
Beko DRVT71W
92 %

Our Verdict: Great vented machine that can hold large loads of up to 7kg, perfect for families.

Beko DRVT71W Rating: 9.2/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 31 kg
  • Dimensions: 60 x 54 x 85 cm
  • Capacity: 7 kg
  • Noise level: 66 dB
  • Energy Class C
  • Drying Type: Freestanding Vented

Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500 Review

Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500 Tumble Dryer Review

The Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500 boasts impressive power and features. It comes with four drying programmes and three dryness levels keeping you in control of drying. It offers a selection of different programme options like half load dry and anti-crease depending on your preference. It is well suited to a busy home and can dry a lot of clothes in one cycle.

The Russell Hobbs isn’t the most energy efficient product available coming in at class C, but it is still relatively eco-friendly depending on your usage. It even has adjustable feet which are great for those that have uneven flooring.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Adjustable feet
  • 4 drying programmes – more control
  • 3 drying levels
  • Anti crease option
  • Big capacity (7 kg)
We Didn't Like:
  • Doesn’t always dry clothes fully
  • Energy class C
  • Noisy

Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500
94 %

Our Verdict: A highly efficient vented machine with a huge 7kg per load drying capacity.

Russell Hobbs RH7VTD500 Rating: 9.4/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 33 kg
  • Dimensions: 84.0 x 59.5 x 55 cm
  • Capacity: 7 kg
  • Noise level: 69 dB
  • Energy Class C
  • Drying Type: Vented

White Knight C44A7B Review

White Knight C44A7B Tumble Dryer Review

The White Knight C44A7B is a bargain for any home. With its large load capacity, it can dry a number of clothes in one cycle. It is powerful and effective with a sleek design. The White Knight offers a number of different drying functions including an anti-crease option at the end of cycles. It is not as energy efficient as some of the other models and is powerful.

With only 62 dB, the White Night produces minimal noise for fewer distractions. It has two different heat settings, a timer, and adjustable features for control over your laundry cycles. This again is a no frills product that is effective and powerful, great for busy households.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Sleek design
  • Different heat settings
  • Quiet
  • Large load capacity (7 kg)
  • Anti crease function
We Didn't Like:
  • Door is small for the size of the drum
  • Energy class C

White Knight C44A7B
90 %

Our Verdict: A low cost bargain product perfect for any home.

White Knight C44A7B Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 33 kg
  • Dimensions: 59.6 cm x 53 cm x 85 cm
  • Capacity: 7 kg
  • Noise level: 62 dB
  • Energy Class C
  • Drying Type: Vented

Grundig GTN38110GCW Condenser Review

GRUNDIG GTN38110GCW Condenser Tumble Dryer ReviewBring style into your kitchen with the Grundig GTN38110GCW Condenser. Grundig’s top-of-the-range machine combines efficiency and class to bring you this sleek and stylish dryer. With impressive heat-pump technology, the Grundig tumble dryer keeps energy consumption to a minimum without compromising drying power. Sensor drying means that the Grundig senses when clothes are dry and ends the cycle so clothes aren’t over-dried or damaged. Anti-crease functions are automatic to ensure clothes are crease free when drying.

The Grundig GTN38110GCW boasts an 8 kg capacity and so is the perfect suit to busy and bustling households that are always on the go. There is even a light on the inside of the drum, ensuring you never leave anything behind. There are a number of different programmes to suit specific fabrics, with delicates, cotton, bedding and denim settings available. The LED screen on the front of the machine displays programme settings and duration of the cycle keeping you in full control. The Grundig condensor machine is a reliable and efficient dryer, especially for those that have a busy home.

 

Click Here for Lowest Price

 

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Sensor drying system
  • Energy efficient
  • Very easy to use
  • Internal light
We Didn't Like:
  • Little noisy
  • Can be slow to dry
Grundig GTN38110GCW
93 %

Our VerdictOverall, this tumble dryer is powerful yet energy efficient, making it the perfect addition to any home.

Grundig GTN38110GCW Rating: 9.3/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 40 kg
  • Dimensions: 850 x 595 x 600 cm
  • Capacity: 8 kg
  • Noise level: 66 dB
  • Energy Class: B
  • Drying Type: Condenser
  • Rating: 9.3/10
  • Price: £££

Grundig GTN38110GCW user manual

Download the Grundig GTN38110GCW user manual here.

Hotpoint Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser Review

HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser Tumble Dryer ReviewIf you are looking for a sleek tumble dryer with convenient drying, the Hotpoint Aquarius is the perfect choice. Boasting a 9 kg drum size, this machine is well suited to families or house shares. Equipped with essential settings like sensor drying, delay timer and specialised programmes, you will have full control of your laundry. The Hotpoint Aquarius even has a reverse tumble action, ensuring clothes don’t get tangled while they are drying.

Specialised programmes take care of your fabrics whether delicate or hardy, with Fibre Care technology that automatically selects lower temperatures to protect delicate fabrics during the cycle. This model offers a delayed timer function, so you can decide when is most convenient to dry your clothes. The Hotpoint Aquarius is fast to dry and easy to use, making it one of the best condenser models available. Fast, simple and effective, this machine is well suited to any family home.

 

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Sensory drying
  • Delay timer
  • High capacity
  • Sleek design
  • Fast and effective drying
We Didn't Like:
  • Can be noisy
  • No countdown timer
HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser
96 %

Our Verdict:  This is a great condenser tumble dryer for families or those living with others. Large capacity and fast drying times make this machine worth every single penny.

HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser Rating: 9.6/10

Specifications & Downloads

Specifications:

  • Weight: 36.87 kg
  • Dimensions: 85 x 59.5 x 61 cm
  • Capacity: 9 kg
  • Noise level: 69 dB
  • Energy Class: B
  • Drying Type: Condenser
  • Rating: 9.6/10
  • Price: ££

HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser user manual

Download the HOTPOINT Aquarius TCFS93BGP Condenser user manual here.

There you have it. These are the top machines for convenience and low energy bills, suitable for every home. Whatever machine you are looking to get, make sure you do your research and go for the machine that is most efficient and suitable for your home. With so many snazzy features it’s hard to know what to get. Now you know the things you need to look out for when buying so you can make a well-informed decision. Take a look at the price comparison table to check out the top deals on tumble dryers to bag yourself a bargain.

What features are you looking for in your next machine?

Tumble Dryer Buying Guide

Getting your hands on the right tumble dryer isn’t always as easy as it seems. There are a number of different models, designs, and features to suite your hectic lifestyle. Consider what features and technology will be right for you and look for a machine that encompasses all these things and a quality energy rating to keep bills low.

Types of Tumble Dryer

Condenser

Condenser tumble dryers can be plugged into anywhere in the house and don’t need to be connected to an exhaust hose or vent. They work by condensing the moisture from your damp clothing into water and depositing it into a container that you need to empty. Some condenser models come with a hose so you can drain away the water instead of manually pouring it out.

Vented

This is generally the cheapest kind of tumble dryer available. They work by pumping out the warm damp air from the drum and your clothes. This is usually deposited out of the machine through a hose or vent.

Heat Pump Condenser

These tend to be the most expensive models because they are so energy efficient meaning that the running costs of these models is a lot less. They will not send your electricity bill through the roof. They are just like any other condenser and can be placed anywhere in the house, as long as there is a power supply.

Gas

They tend to work in the same way as vented models as they pump the warm damp air out from the drum, but run on gas instead of electricity. They are cheaper to run but can be tricky to install because you need a gas engineer to fit them.

Features

Sensor Drying

This is a handy feature that tends to be available for most automatic models around these days. The machine has a sensor inside the drum which stops the machine once your laundry is dry. This feature is handy so that you don’t end up opening the machine with your clothes still wet. It also means that your clothes don’t get too exposed to heat and shrink.

Capacity

Capacity can be measured in the same terms as washing machine capacity. It’s measured in Kilograms and determines the size of the drum and how much laundry you can dry at one time. You can get very small ones from 3kg all the way up to 9kg which is close to the standard machine.

Larger drums increase hot air flow and mean that you can dry more clothes per cycle. It saves more energy because you don’t have to use it as often. With more space comes less creasing too, which is a real bonus.

Energy Rating

Each product is given an energy rating either A, B or C. These determine how eco-friendly and efficient these dryers are. Obviously the more efficient the machine the less electricity you will be using which will cut down a lot on electric bills. Heat pump dryers tend to be the most economical because they conserve the heat inside the drum to dry clothes.

FAQs

How much will a tumble dryer add to my electricity bill?

It is difficult to say exactly how much these machines will add to your electricity bill. This depends on how much the machine is in use and the energy consumption of the machine. Look at the energy class to determine how eco-friendly your machine will be.

Are condenser dryers better than vented?

This is based on your own preference. Many people find that condenser dryers are easier to fit because they can be placed anywhere in your home. Vented dryers need access to a vent and hose to extract the moisture and damp air.

Can I stack my machine above my washing machine?

If they are from the same manufacturer then you should be able to mount one-on-top of the other. Usually, there are stacking kits to do this but it is better to check with your manufacturer before you try to do this.

What is sensor control?

Sensor control is a handy feature offered by many dryers. It senses the amount of moisture in the drum and adjusts the timer accordingly.

Is it worthwhile to buy a tumble dryer?

Again this is down to your own personal preference. Using one of these machines eliminates the use of washing lines and drying clothes inside which can result in mould and damp in your home. It also dries clothes fast and effectively.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply