Best Fridge Freezers 2017 – Buyer’s Guide

Choosing an appliance is no small decision, not least because of the price tag which these appliances usually carry. It is likely to be one of the most important appliances in your kitchen, keeping food fresh and drinks chilled. Where they used to be considered a luxury, refrigerators and freezers have now long been viewed as a necessity.

The fridge has evolved to encompass a vast range of options far beyond its basic uses. It’s important to choose the best product for your kitchen space and family needs. Fridge-freezer combos are the most common type of fridge that people buy, combining both compartments. Usually, the fridge section is larger than the freezers, though the ratios can vary. The freezer section is normally located at the top, bottom or side of the appliance.

To help you make the best choice when buying a new fridge-freezer, here is our roundup of some of the best offerings on the market, as well as a helpful buying guide.

The Best Fridge-Freezers – Our Pick

In a Hurry? Check out our Favourites

Best OverallSmeg FAB32RNC

Best RetroGorenje RK60359

Best Under £500Hotpoint RFAA52S

Top 7 Fridge-Freezers List

ProductImageBrandCapacityDimensions (cm)EfficiencyEnergy consumption (annual)FeaturesTechnologyPriceBuy Now
Samsung RB31FDRNDSA Fridge Freezersamsung-rb31fdrndsa-fridge-freezerSamsungFridge: 210 litres Freezer: 98 litres185 x 59.5 x 66.8A+280 kWhChilled water dispenser
External display
Bottle rack
Fast freeze
Auto defrost
Holiday mode
£££
Smeg FAB32RNC Fridge Freezersmeg-fab32rnc-fridge-freezerSmegFridge: 229 litres Freezer: 75 litres192.6 x 60 x 72A++229 kWhSafety glass shelves
Anti-bacterial liners
Egg and bottle rack
Fast freeze
Fast cooling
Auto defrost
££££
Gorenje RK60359 Fridge Freezergorenje-rk60359-fridge-freezerGorenjeFridge: 229 litres Freezer: 92 litres188.7 x 60 x 64A++209 kWhGlass shelves
Deep door bottle shelf
Flexible egg tray and bottle rack
Fast freeze
Auto defrost
Cooling fan
£££
Beko Select BCE772F Integrated Fridge Freezerbeko-select-bce772f-integrated-fridge-freezerBekoFridge: 182 litres Freezer: 65 litres177.7 x 55.6 x 54.5A++249 kWhAnti-bacterial door seals
Door open alarm
Reversible door
Quick cool function
Frost-free
Twin thermostat
£
Bosch KIN85AF30G Integrated Fridge Freezerbosch-kin85af30g-integrated-fridge-freezerBoschFridge: 154 litres Freezer: 92 litres177.2 x 55.8 x 54.5A++232 kWhEgg racks
Bottle rack
Holiday mode
Frost-free
Fast chill
Fast freeze
££££
AEG SCT71800S1 Integrated Fridge Freezeraeg-sct71800s1-integrated-fridge-freezerAEGFridge: 200 litres
Freezer: 63 litres
177.2 x 54 x 54.9A+297 kWhEgg racks
Flexi shelf
Holiday mode
Fast freeze
Frost-free
Food preservation technology
£££
Zanussi ZBB28651SA Integrated Fridge Freezerzanussi-zbb28651sa-integrated-fridge-freezerZanussiFridge: 200 litres
Freezer: 63 litres
177.2 x 54 x 54.7A+297 kWhAdjustable shelves
Fan cooling
Reversible door
Fast freeze
Fast cooling
Frost-free
££

Samsung RB31FDRNDSA

Samsung RB31FDRNDSA Fridge Freezer Review

The Samsung RB31FDRNDSA is really everything you could want out of a traditional appliance. It is a standard size at just 59.5 cm across, and so much more appropriate for modest kitchens than big American-style alternatives. It has ample storage space, a chilled water dispenser (but no ice), and handy bottle rack. The external display is a nice touch, too.

Considerably more efficient that its American-style counterparts, using approximately two thirds of the amount of energy. The trade-off is that you have less space, but not everybody needs as much. This product would still be perfectly fine for a family or 2-3 people sharing.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The Holiday Mode option
  • The easy-slide shelf for reaching items at the back
  • The Power Freeze function
We Didn't Like:
  • Casing and shelving are not robust
  • Lack of ice-maker
Samsung RB31FDRNDSA
80 %

Our Verdict: A modern model with built-in chilled water dispenser from this reliable brand.

Samsung RB31FDRNDSA Rating: 8/10

Specifications and downloads

Smeg FAB32RNC

Smeg FAB32RNC Fridge Freezer Review

It’s no secret that Smeg products are some of the most stylish kitchen appliances in existence. They have a cool, retro aesthetic, come in a range of unusual colours, and are energy efficient. We love this tasteful cream model from Smeg (also available in black or blue) as it has an A++ rating, spacious compartments and never requires manual defrosting.

The primary appeal of this model is the design and respected Smeg name. It’s fast-chill and fast-freeze functions are also very handy, ensuring that your food reaches the best temperature rapidly. However, there is no getting away from the fact that these famous Smeg products have a hefty price tag.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The aesthetic
  • The antibacterial liners
  • The plentiful room for bottles and jars
We Didn't Like:
  • The high price
  • The doors are a little heavy
  • The confusing temp control instructions
Smeg FAB32RNC
85 %

Our Verdict: A retro product that comes in a range of colours, along with all of the reliability and quality you’d expect from this famous brand.

Smeg FAB32RNC Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Gorenje RK60359

Gorenje RK60359 Fridge Freezer Review

If you’re looking for the fun, retro style of a Smeg product but you can’t afford the real thing, something like this original burgundy Gorenje RK60359 might do the trick. It has the same level of capacity as the Smeg, and slightly more freezer capacity. It also matches the A++ efficiency rating, and in fact uses marginally less energy. While it doesn’t have a chilled water dispenser or an ice tray, it does have the same auto-defrost and fast-freeze features, as well as plentiful room for bottles.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The high energy-efficiency
  • The spacious interior
  • The price tag
We Didn't Like:
  • The customer service
  • The lack of decent-sized ice tray (easily remedied by buying a separate one)
Gorenje RK60359
90 %

Our Verdict: Our favourite retro-style offering. An efficient and stylish addition to your kitchen that offers great value for money.

Gorenje RK60359 Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Beko Select BCE772F

Beko Select BCE772F Integrated Fridge Freezer Review

This Beko integrated model is highly efficient (A++), offers lots of storage and has excellent cooling features, including a quick-cool function that rapidly cools items that have just been put inside to the best temperature.

The freezer has separate ice and storage trays, so bigger items can be packed in more easily. The fridge section has full-depth drawers, which are perfect for storing beer and wine, as well as veg. You can fit a surprising amount of food in this model, and it is frankly better quality than some of its pricey competitors.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The A++ efficiency rating
  • The twin thermostat
  • The quick-cool and quick-freeze functions
We Didn't Like:
  • The top tray is quite limited – only good for small items
  • Interior light delay
Beko Select BCE772F
85 %

Our Verdict: A highly efficient integrated product with lots of capacity.

Beko Select BCE772F Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Bosch KIN85AF30G

Bosch KIN85AF30G Integrated Fridge Freezer Review

This Bosch integrated model is the best of these options if you want plentiful space, at 92 litres compared to the next highest at 65 (the Beko). It has all of the coveted fast-chill, fast-freeze and auto defrost features, and an A++ that puts it high on our list.

A particularly useful function of the Bosch is its holiday mode, which is a setting designed to keep running efficiently while using less power. This model is very quiet, does its job and is great value for money.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The energy rating
  • The size
  • The handy functions
We Didn't Like:
  • Adjusting the shelves
  • The unclear instructions
Bosch KIN85AF30G
90 %

Our Verdict: Another very efficient integrated offering, boasting more capacity than equivalent models.

Bosch KIN85AF30G Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

AEG SCT71800S1

AEG SCT71800S1 Integrated Fridge Freezer Review

The AEG is a spacious, 263 litre model that is frost-free and fast-freezing. It is a relatively narrow 54 cm wide, making it a good choice for smaller spaces. This built-in product uses a Coolmatic function to chill fresh food quickly and stop new items from increasing the overall temperature. One of its best features is the flexi shelf, which is a shelf you can adjust to make room for larger items. The AEG also comes with an ice tray and egg rack, and it has the same holiday mode function as the Bosch.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The flexi shelf
  • The fast freeze/chill functions
  • The external touch controls
We Didn't Like:
  • The lack of bottle rack
  • The upwards-sliding salad drawers
AEG SCT71800S1
85 %

Our Verdict: Plentiful capacity integrated with innovative food preservation technology

AEG SCT71800S1 Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Zanussi ZBB28651SA

Zanussi ZBB28651SA Integrated Fridge Freezer Review

In terms of dimensions, capacity and annual energy usage, this Zanussi is almost identical to the AEG. One benefit it does have is that the door is reversible, so you can ask to have this changed over before delivery if desired. It has all of the standard fast freeze/cooling and auto-defrost functions, and in addition some very useful adjustable shelves, so you can alter their heights as needed. This model is slightly cheaper than the AEG, and is therefore the best budget option.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The price tag
  • The fan cooling
  • The simple instructions
We Didn't Like:
  • The slight noisiness
  • The lower compartment is on the small side
Zanussi ZBB28651SA
80 %

Our Verdict: A spacious, budget-friendly integrated model.

Zanussi ZBB28651SA Rating: 8/10

Specifications and downloads

Best Model under £500

At the time of review, all of these appliances were below the £500 price point, however stores often change their prices so we advise you check each item individually.

ProductImageAestheticsBrandCapacityCostDimensions (cm)EfficiencyEnergy consumption (annual)FeaturesTechnologyAR ratingBuy Now
Hotpoint RFAA52S Fridge Freezerhotpoint-rfaa52s-fridge-freezerGlossed sliverHotpointFridge: 155 litres
Freezer: 150 litres
£174 x 54.5 x 58A+258 kWhAnti-bactera liners
Reversible door
Adjustable shelves
Airflow cooling
Manual defrost
Safety glass
7.5/10
Siemens IQ-300 Fridge Freezersiemens-iq-300-fridge-freezerStainless steelSiemensFridge: 194 litres
Freezer: 94 litres
££176 x 60 x 65A++219 kWhReversible door
Fingerprint-proof
Adjustable shelves
Integrated humidity control
Super-freeze function
Auto defrost
8.0/10
Haier C2FE636CCJ 60/40 Frost Free Fridge Freezerhaier-c2fe636ccj-60-40-frost-free-fridge-freezerCreamHaierFridge: 201 litres
Freezer: 104 litres
££190.5 x 59.5 x 67.2A+353 kWhMy Zone area
Reversible door
Adjustable shelves
Auto defrost
Frost-free freezer
LED display
9.0/10
Beko Select CXFG1685DW Fridge Freezerbeko-select-cxfg1685dw-fridge-freezerGlossyBekoFridge: 225 litres
Freezer: 97 litres
££185 x 60 x 65A+337 kWhWater dispenser
Egg and wine rack
Anti-bacterial seals
Frost-free
Internal water tank
Freezer guard
9.0/10
Grundig GKN16715X Fridge Freezergrundig-gkn16715x-fridge-freezerStainless steelGrundigFridge: 210 litres
Freezer: 97 litres
£££175.4 x 59.5 x 65A+307 kWhAnti-fingerprint finish
Egg and bottle rack
Antibacterial seals
IonFresh
Auto defrost
Super FreshZone
8.5/10
John Lewis JLBIFF1807 Integrated Fridge Freezerhotpoint-rfaa52s-fridge-freezerClean & whiteJohn LewisFridge: 210 litres
Freezer: 55 litres
£££177.2 x 54 x 54.9A+309 kWhReversible door
Electronic temperature controls
Adjustable shelves
Fast freeze
Cooling air circulation
Frost-free
8.5/10

Hotpoint RFAA52S

Hotpoint RFAA52S Fridge Freezer Review

The Hotpoint RFAA52S  is a sensible, reliable and reasonably priced choice. It would do well for an average-sized family. When it comes to home appliances, you really can’t go wrong with Hotpoint. The top and bottom sections are almost 50/50 (the bottom half is very slightly smaller) so there is plenty of space for your frozen food.

It doesn’t have an auto-defrost function, which is a shame, but it does have antibacterial liners, adjustable shelves, and the door is reversible – so you can choose which way round will work best in your kitchen. It has a glossed silver exterior that would complement a contemporary look.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The spaciousness
  • The sleek aesthetic
  • Value for money
We Didn't Like:
  • A bit noisy
  • The doors can be tricky
Hotpoint RFAA52S
75 %

Our Verdict: A sleek, sensible family fridge which won’t hurt the pocket too much.

Hotpoint RFAA52S Rating: 7.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Siemens KG33VVI31G

Siemens KG33VVI31G Fridge Freezer Review

The Siemens KG33VVI31G has more internal fridge space than the Hotpoint, and also a better efficiency rating/annual energy usage. It has a stainless steel finish, which can be often prone to smudging, however the fingerprint-proof coating helps to solve this problem.

As with the Hotpoint, the door is reversible so you can choose which side you want it – just be sure to say before the appliance is delivered. The Siemens has an auto-defrost function, so you would never need to do this manually.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The super-freeze function
  • A++ energy rating
  • The integrated humidity control
  • Auto-Defrost function
We Didn't Like:
  • The lower compartment is a little small
  • No temperature control
Siemens KG33VVI31G
80 %

Our Verdict: This modern stainless steel fridge has lots of space and some great functions.

Siemens KG33VVI31G Rating: 8/10

Specifications and downloads

Haier C2FE636CCJ 60/40

Haier C2FE636CCJ 60/40 Frost Free Fridge Freezer Review

This cream standalone appliance from Haier (also available in dark red) makes a welcome change from the sea of silver and steel. Split 60/40, it claims you can fit 16 bags of food shopping inside which, although we didn’t test, we can easily believe as it feels very spacious – maybe due to this being an extra tall model.

Both compartments offer comparatively more space than the Siemens, however its annual energy consumption is higher. One of the unique features of this appliance is the MyZone area, which is a really handy compartment that you can set to act as either appliance, giving you more flexibility. Very useful indeed.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The flexible MyZone area
  • The plentiful storage space
  • The matte finish
We Didn't Like:
  • Extra tall – might be too tall for some
  • Uses more energy than some
Haier C2FE636CCJ
90 %

Our Verdict: One of our highest scoring appliances in this category. An attractive cream-coloured fridge-freezer with lots of space.

Haier C2FE636CCJ Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Beko Select CXFG1685DW

Beko Select CXFG1685DW Fridge Freezer Review

You’re really in safe hands with Beko appliances. If you’re looking for a great value freestanding appliance that comes with a chilled water dispenser, then the Select CXFG1685DW is a good option. It has an internal water tank, so you’re not restricted by the need to position it close to a plumbed water source.

The fridge section is particularly spacious – 225 litres – and auto-defrost means there’s no pesky ice build-up. All in all, this model is cheap and good quality, and its Freezer-Guard feature means that it will continue to perform well even if the room is cold – so it can be used in outbuildings.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The water dispenser
  • The Freezer-Guard feature
  • The antibacterial seals
We Didn't Like:
  • The door-open alarm comes on very quickly
  • Can be on the noisy side
Beko Select CXFG1685DW
90 %

Our Verdict: A great looking, great value unit with built-in water dispenser. One of our favourites.

Beko Select CXFG1685DW Rating: 9/10

Specifications and downloads

Grundig GKN16715X

Grundig GKN16715X Fridge Freezer Review

The Grundig GKN16715X could be the best choice if you do not mind going without a water dispenser. It’s stainless steel with an anti-fingerprint finish, which means minimal smudging and smearing.

An interesting feature of the Grundig is the IonFresh technology, which helps to prevent bad smells in the fridge by producing negative ions that capture and expel bacteria molecules. This model auto-defrosts, has antibacterial seals and a roomy interior, though it would be nice if the shelves were adjustable.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • The cool ionising feature
  • The smudge-free finish
  • The roominess
  • Auto-defrost feature
We Didn't Like:
  • The lack of adjustability
  • No bottle rack
Grundig GKN16715X
85 %

Our Verdict: A reliable and roomy stainless steel appliance with ionising technology.

Grundig GKN16715X Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and downloads

John Lewis JLBIFF1807

John Lewis JLBIFF1807 Integrated Fridge Freezer Review

The final integrated model to make our top list is this compact option from John Lewis – the JLBIFF1807. First things first – this option favours fridge space, so the freezer is actually quite little at only 55 litres (210 litres for the fridge). So if you buy a lot of frozen food, this might not be the best option for you, but if you rely mainly on your fridge for fresh produce it could suit you fine.

This appliance has super-cooling air circulation and adjustable shelves for added flexibility, as well as being frost-free and door-reversible.

Click Here for Lowest Price

Pros and Cons
We Liked:
  • Adjustable shelves
  • Spacious fridge area
  • Plentiful door storage
We Didn't Like:
  • The small freezer
  • The slightly sloped bottom of the fridge
John Lewis JLBIFF1807
85 %

Our Verdict: An integrated refrigerator from a reliable name, with lots of space for veg.

John Lewis JLBIFF1807 Rating: 8.5/10

Specifications and downloads

Fridge-Freezer Buying Guide

Types of fridge freezers

There are many different varieties of fridge, but they can be boiled down to four main styles. Each has certain benefits and disadvantages.

Top freezer

This is where the freezer sits on top, with the fridge located below.

  • Great for accommodating large trays of food
  • Useful if you use a lot of frozen food or ice
  • Can be uncomfortable bending down to reach the lower drawers
  • Options with adjustable glass shelves are best for easy cleaning

Bottom freezers

The fridge sits above, with the freezer at the bottom.

  • No bending down to reach fresh foods
  • Just as good at accommodating large items
  • Less convenient for retrieving frozen food
  • Look for models with pull-out drawers and plenty of bins

French door

As the name suggests, this fridge-freezer has two doors which open outwards, and the freezer is located at the bottom.

  • Similar advantages to a bottom freezer
  • Less space required for doors to open

Side-by-side

Again with this option there are two doors that open outwards, but this time the freezer and fridge are found alongside each other.

  • Best for people who use both fresh and frozen food often
  • Less space required for doors to open
  • The fridge and freezers shelves are narrower – not as good for storing large items
  • Opt for the largest you can get away with, to get maximum shelf space

Free-standing or Integrated Fridge?

A free-standing appliance is the most common type of this appliance. They aren’t designed to hide behind your kitchen units, so you’ll find a variety of shapes, sizes and styles. They are generally less expensive and simpler to install than integrated units, and are easier to move if required. As a result, their appearance is sometimes not as seamless with the rest of your kitchen and you may have to do some shopping around to find the perfect match.

Integrated fridge freezers are built in, with a front panel that seamlessly matches the rest of your kitchen. The fridge freezers themselves are hidden from view unless opened. They are slimmer than traditional fridges and take up less space – but the downside is they can cost more to buy and run.

While they are becoming more popular, integrated models are still hugely outsold by the freestanding fridge, so there is a smaller range available. But don’t let that put you off – if you’ve got your heart set on integrated fridge freezers that perfectly blends in with your kitchen suite, there are still some great options out there.

Was this review helpful in guiding you towards the best fridge-freezer for your home? Which features are most important to you? Let us know by leaving a reply below.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply